Saga Saturday - Welcome author Patricia M Osborne...

House of Grace is Born – Patricia M Osborne

I was in awe of writers on my university creative writing course who had written a novel. I was a poet and short story writer. Before I started studying creative writing, five hundred words was my limit.

In 2013 I was completing my dissertation for my creative writing degree when everything went wrong. I’d planned to write a life project but discovered that I was unable to cope as the subject was too painful. For the first time I panicked that I was going to fail on the last hurdle.

I googled pictures on the internet for inspiration, and later, remembered a character I’d created for a writing exercise inspired by George Orwell’s, Road to Wigan Pier. A coal miner’s wife. I began writing my screen play, not only inspired by Orwell, but also the television dramas Mr Selfridge and House of Elliott.

Once I was approaching the end of my script, I realised that I was in the position to write a novel. My story had so much more to tell, both before the script started, and after it ended. And so, House of Grace was born. The novel was split into two parts and for the first section I created a new character, ‘Young Grace’.

Grace’s ambition was to be a fashion designer but her father, Lord Granville, saw this occupation as trivial nonsense. Instead he had plans for her to marry a suitor of his choice, one that would extend his empire. However, he agreed to her taking a short vacation staying at her school roommate’s home in Bolton before the search for a suitable husband began. In Bolton, Grace tasted a newfound freedom and her life was never the same again.

The reader travels with Grace through two decades, the nineteen fifties and sixties, as she builds new friendships, romance and love but struggles with family conflict, poverty and tragedy.

When I finished House of Grace, it was clear that there was potential for a lot more story to be told, so I decided to write a trilogy. The second in the series is The Coal Miner’s Son whose emphasis is more on Grace’s son George. The reader finds out about Grace’s sister, Elizabeth, who narrates her story along with George, the primary narrator.

Opening in 1962 tragedy hits the small fictitious coal mining village of Wintermore and nine-year-old George is sent to live with his titled grandparents to become the Granville heir. He grows up believing his mother sold him. George faces Rejection - Intimidation – Rebellion – Resistance is his only hope.

The manuscript for The Coal Miner’s Son is presently with beta readers but my readers won’t have too much longer to wait for publication. In the meantime I am working on Book 3 which at the moment is untitled. All the books in the series may be read as standalones.  

House of Grace Blurb

It’s 1950 and all sixteen-year-old Grace Granville has ever wanted is to become a successful dress designer. She dreams of owning her own fashion house and spends her spare time sketching outfits. Her father, Lord Granville, sees this frivolous activity as nonsense and wants to groom her into a good wife for someone of his choosing...

Grace is about to leave Greenemere, a boarding school in Brighton. She’s blissfully unaware of her father’s plans when she embarks on a new adventure. The quest includes a trip to Bolton’s Palais where she meets coal miner, Jack Gilmore. Grace’s life is never the same again.  

Travel with Grace through two decades as she struggles with family conflict, poverty and tragedy. Is Grace strong enough to defy Lord Granville’s wishes and find true love? Will she become a successful fashion designer? Where will she turn for help?

Author Bio

Where can you find me?
Facebook: Patricia M Osborne, Writer
Twitter: PMOsborneWriter

Where can you buy a copy of House of Grace?
Paperback and kindle form. Free to read with Kindle Unlimited.
House of Grace in paperback may be ordered from all good bookstores and libraries by quoting ISBN 9780995710702.

1 comment