IT'S SAGA SATURDAY!! Please welcome Regency romance author Beth Elliott...


Hello Rachel,

Thank you for inviting me onto your Saga Saturday Blog.

As writers, we’re perhaps better able than many to cope with being alone and getting on with our usual work. But in these strange times it’s very precious to make contact outside our current limited bubbles, so I really appreciate this virtual outing.

 During this unusual and difficult year a special highlight for me is that www.joffebooks.com

recently republished my very first Regency Tale, The Wild Card. Thanks to an updated cover and their publicity, I’m delighted to say it’s doing well. I’m particularly fond of this story for many reasons. The group of young people and their probable and improbable adventures still make me laugh as much as when I wrote it all. My heroine, Kitty, comes down south from Cheshire, like me – although I didn’t meet a tall, brooding stranger at the inn where we stopped on the way. Kitty’s great-aunt is a birdlike old lady with a kind heart. It was only after the novel was published that I realised she was in fact, my own dear aunt. And I’m quite proud of a couple of little twists in the story.

Since The Wild Card was first published, I’ve brought out a number of other adventure romances, all set in the wider Regency era. Several of them take place partly in England and partly abroad, reflecting the travels of my own life, which have included some exotic spots. They are all currently published by Lume or by Joffe Books.

Recently I completed writing and editing a tale set in 1818, The Outcasts, a story about a third son [always a significant number, isn’t it?] and his two guests from Hell. Currently it’s out looking for a home, so meanwhile it’s my pleasure to reintroduce Kitty and her friends. Maybe some people will take pleasure in spending a couple of hours in their company.

One reviewer said about The Wild Card: ‘Dive in and enjoy.’ That so captures what my stories are meant to offer.

 


Blurb             

Regency London 1810.  Spirited Kitty Towers is no ordinary debutante. Society life and idle gossip bore her. She is determined not to find a husband. She prefers helping her father with his good works for the poor, especially wounded soldiers.
But then she meets the enigmatic Theo Weston. He is tall, dark and trouble personified.
Kitty knows she’s playing with fire, but the attraction between them is undeniable.
Then there’s Etienne de Saint-Aubin, her aunt's refined protégé and society’s darling. Even Kitty has to admit, he is definitely attractive.  So, in spite of her resolve, she finds herself in a deadly love triangle.
But Kitty soon realizes she is in danger of losing more than her heart. One of her admirers is a spy. Can she discover who the traitor is in time to stop him? Only by taking drastic and almost fatal action can she avoid a tragedy for her country and herself.

This beautifully written Regency romance is perfect for fans of Jane Austen, Jenny Hambly, Mary Balogh and Lisa Kleypas.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B087X5WP65/

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B087X5WP65/

Bio

Beth Elliott was already making up stories before she could read. Her imagination was helped by listening to her Welsh grandmother’s folk tales. The only girl in a tiny Lancashire village, books were always her main interest and refuge. Once she discovered ‘Pride and Prejudice’ it was like having five sisters. She had only to open the book to join in their world of walks and talks and sewing and dancing. And so began a lifelong love of Jane Austen’s stories and the period she describes.

Now Beth writes her own tales set in the Regency era. It’s so much more fun than her previous career of teaching modern languages, even though that led to life in several different countries, during which she met her own Mr Knightley, as well as making many enduring friendships and discovering wonderful places.

Her Regency Tales are stories of adventure and intrigue with a light touch and a happy ending. When not writing, she does metallic embroidery, reads and travels, mainly to traditional Mediterranean countries - and her characters often get to have adventures in those places as well.

Beth is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Historical Novel Society and the SWWJ.

Website:  https://www.regencytales.co.uk/

Blog:  https://regencytales.blogspot.com/

Facebook    http://en-gb.facebook.com/people/Beth-Elliott/1128803291

Twitter  https://twitter.com/BethElliott

It’s been a real pleasure to be here today. Thank you again, Rachel,

Beth.

 

 

 

 

No comments

Post a comment