A Shop Girl At Sea & The Titanic...

Including real-life events in my novels has always been an aspiration of mine but I am terrified every time I even consider it, let alone write it. If you are even alluding to an event that famously occurred in history, as a writer, you are opening yourself up to more criticism than usual which is a hard thing to do. The longer a person writes, acts, sings, the thicker their skin becomes BUT that is not to say that it isn't affecting. It is! But when I started planning A Shop Girl At Sea (Pennington's book 4), I quickly knew that Amelia Wakefield would be sent aboard the Titanic - now I had a choice to make, to include the sinking or just allude to it. The choice to include it quickly became overwhelming but my research began in earnest. I learned so much more than what I thought I already knew - I read a LOT of non-fiction books and newspaper articles, but it was the written and taped accounts of the survivors that I found in our local history centre and online that really affected me and brought the true terror of those fateful few hours to life. And then it was time to start writing my novel - I hoped and prayed that I was retelling the tragedy in a way that was both informative but also compassionate and respectful. Throughout the writing process, I was consumed with self-doubt, even tell my editor on several occasions that I was afraid of what I had started. Her encouragement kept me going and I when I finished A Shop Girl At Sea I was emotionally spent but also very proud. I would love to know what you think - why not download your copy today? I'd love to chat!
Bath, 1912. Amelia Wakefield loves working at Pennington's, Bath's finest department store. An escape from her traumatic past, it saved her life. So when Miss Pennington sets her a task to set sail on the Titanic and study the department stores of New York, she couldn't be more excited – or determined! Frustrated with his life at home, Samuel Murphy longs for a few weeks of freedom and adventure. Meeting Amelia on board the Titanic, Samuel can't help wonder what painful history has made the beauty so reserved. But he already has too many responsibilities for love. Ruby Taylor has always kept her Pennington co-workers at a distance. Making sure her little brother is safe has always been her priority. But when that means accepting Victoria Lark's offer of sanctuary, more than one of Ruby's secrets is under threat of being revealed... A riveting and uplifting saga, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Fiona Ford. Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shop-Girl-Sea-Penningtons-Book-ebook/dp/B0844YNJSR/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=rachel+brimble&qid=1579886168&sr=8-4 Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Shop-Girl-Sea-Penningtons-Book-ebook/dp/B0844YNJSR/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=rachel+brimble&qid=1579886275&sr=8-6

No comments

Post a comment