If I Want You Blog Tour

Tuesday, 7 November 2017

Introducing The Lido Girls by Allie Burns... *INTERNATIONAL GIVEAWAY*


 Hi Allie! It's so great to have you here and to be a part of your ongoing tour - I'm looking forward to learning more about you and your latest release, THE LIDO GIRLS! Let's kick off with my questions...

1.)                What did you want to be when you grew up?

I first wanted to work in paddy fields in China; the idea of splashing around appealed to me. In my teens I wanted to be an actress briefly after a couple of appearances as a chorus girl in amateur productions of Grease and Chicago. I also wanted to be a business woman, which I was for a while, but really I always wanted to write, I just didn’t believe it could ever happen.

2.)                Coffee, tea or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate, iced coffee and herbal tea.

3.)                What genre do you typically read? Why?

I love reading about relationships, especially within families and between friends, so I read a lot of women’s fiction. I also like stories that blend fact with fiction because I get to learn something new whilst being entertained with a gripping story.

4.)                Share a favourite childhood memory.

My mum collected me from primary school to take me to an emergency dentist appointment, but there was no dentist appointment and we actually went to the beach for the day.

5.)                Do you have any shameless addictions? ie. Tea, Books, Shoes, Clothes?

I buy lots of plants and I hide all of the empty pots by the side of my house. It’s always a bit of a shock to see them piled up and to realise how much I have spent at the garden centre.

6.)                What do you think is the biggest challenge of writing a new book?

There are so many directions in which a story can go, and my temptation is to follow each of them to see which I like the best, which is very time consuming. The biggest challenge I have is deciding on the plot, and sticking to it. I haven’t managed it yet!

7.)                Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages a day?

I do, but I never stick to it. The deadline for Book #2 is approaching, but I’ve been ignoring my word count target because there is something I need to have straight in my mind before I can move on.

8.)                What are your thoughts on writing a book series?

I don’t think this would be for me at this stage of my writing career. I’d like to feel more adept at plotting and planning for a standalone novel before moving on to a series. 

The Lido Girls by Alison Burnside

Blurb: Escape to the inter-war years in this emotional story where opportunity can be found at the pool-side in your local lido… Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Gill Paul

Change is in the air…

London, 1930s:

Natalie Flacker is tempted by the glamour of the new keep fit movement, but when she is dismissed from her prestigious job in PE she loses the life she so carefully built. Echoes of the war’s destruction still reverberate through her life, and now she is homeless, jobless and without prospects.

But connections made on a summer holiday, with her best friend Delphi, create opportunities. When Natalie is offered a summer job at a lido at the seaside, she jumps at the chance. But is she up to the challenge of taking on a group of unfit women in need of her help?

Set against the backdrop of the beginnings of the pioneering keep fit movement; this is a feel-good reminder of just what's possible when you find the courage to follow your heart.

Spend a very British summer with The Lido Girls!


Author bio: Allie lives in Kent with her family and two tortoises. When she's not writing for business or penning her Women's Historical Fiction, Allie enjoys swimming and yoga. She has an MA in Professional Writing from Falmouth University and The Lido Girls is her debut novel. She is currently working on a second interwar years novel, which is due for publication in the summer of 2018.

Links:


International

Boden beach towel, St Tropez fake tanning face bronzer and a signed postcard – worth £40.



No comments:

Post a Comment