Tuesday, 15 September 2015

Please welcome romance author, Rachel L. Demeter...


1) Hello, Rachel! Please start off by telling us about yourself and your writing background.
Thanks so much for having me on your blog! Well, I’ve been writing before I physically learned to write. As a child, one of my favorite pastimes was imagining stories and characters while my mom would record them for me.

I graduated from Chapman University’s School of Film and Media Arts with a BA in Screenwriting. While I continue to develop television pilots and feature films, my true passion lies in novel writing. Both mediums (screenwriting and novels) are special and unique in their own ways—though, for me, I’ve found that novel writing complements my voice better, permits greater creative freedom, and allows me to develop a stronger one-on-one relationship with my readers.
 

2) Who is your favorite character in Finding Gabriel? Why?
What a hard choice! All of my characters are my children—it’s almost impossible to pick just one. But I would have to say the heroine, Ariah Larochelle. My mom (who’s my personal heroine) inspired many aspects of her character, so naturally she’s very close to my heart. Ariah is strong, loyal, compassionate, and willing to protect her loved ones at all costs.

3) Do you have a favorite spot to write in?
Hmmm . . . snuggled up in bed with either my MacBook Pro (I recently converted from PC to Macs . . . and, outside of gaming, I’m never going back!), iPad, or a good old fashion notebook and fountain pen.
Strangely enough, I often think of my strongest story ideas while driving or in the shower. (I’ve heard this isn’t uncommon for writers.) I actually have a magnetic, waterproof notepad hanging on my shower wall just for this purpose! It’s awesome and doesn’t let any good ideas “go down the drain.” ;-)


4) About how many hours per day to your spend writing?


I actually track my progress by word count rather than hours. When I’m “in the zone,” I’ll easily knock out 3,000+ words per day. Other times, when I’m distracted or suffering from the dreaded writer’s block (cringe), I’ll manage about 500-1,000 words. So, it varies greatly—but I try to set a minimum word count each day.
Alternatively, some days I’ll concentrate on research, plotting, developing the characters, or just brainstorming new scene concepts. I prefer a mixed bag! 

5) What’s the best thing about being an author?
Easy. Creating entire worlds filled with truthful personalities, heartache, love and happiness. Also, nothing is more rewarding or inspiring than moving others with my words and connecting with readers!

6) What message would you like readers to take away from Finding Gabriel?

Never lose hope or abandon faith in yourself.


7) To wrap up, please share three fun tidbits about Finding Gabriel.
Ohh, I love trivia . . .
-  A ton of research was dedicated to Gabriel’s psychological state and self-inflicted disfigurement to ensure authenticity and detail. My father is a surgeon, and his medical expertise proved invaluable in this regard.

- Dog lovers will feel a special connection with one of the secondary characters!
- Napoleon Bonaparte makes a memorable cameo.

Finding Gabriel
by Rachel L. Demeter

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon's army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she's moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah – and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah's own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts – or will the cycle of history repeat again? 

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley's Lord of Ice and Judith James's Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT

Ariah’s eyes blinked open. Their heads were mere centimeters apart, mouths sharing the same breaths of air. She took in the irregular features of Gabriel’s face – half achingly handsome, half a testament to years of torment. Tears threatening to surface, she pressed her lips against the uneven skin, not daring to leave a piece of him unloved. A salty tang flavored her tongue – and she realized that he was weeping.

Clasping both of her hands in one of his own, he stepped backward, leading her away from the railing. She followed without thought, her soul carrying her feet. Those powerful, haunted eyes never left her face as he edged toward the center of the roof. What a breathtaking and surreal figure he made, silhouetted against Paris’s eternal night sky. A light breeze ruffled the material of his greatcoat. Carried by the wind’s breath, the greatcoat billowed around his body like a pair of colossal wings. Beneath this light, he resembled a fallen angel. Her legs grew heavy, each one weighed down with desire and anticipation.

His hand slipped free, and Ariah’s knees nearly gave way at the loss of his touch. Then he stripped away his greatcoat, eyes still locked on her own, and suavely smoothed the material across the flooring. Gabriel lowered to his knees and held out his hand, beckoning Ariah forward with the raw magnetism of his eyes.

Pulse thrumming, she moved forward until she stood on the edge of the greatcoat. Moonlight flashed against his raven hair, brightening the locks to a rich amber. His shoulders were strong and wide, and Ariah was struck with the desire to feel his muscles constrict beneath her fingers. Indeed, he resembled a crouching panther – dark, smooth, and infinitely powerful. Admiring his silhouette, she wordlessly stared down at him. She attempted a smile, but her dancing nerves prohibited the simple movement. “Touch me. Touch me, Gabriel . . .”


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader's emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel's passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.

Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

Don't be a stranger! Rachel loves to connect and interact with her readers: 

Visit Rachel's Official Website: http://racheldemeter.netStay in the loop with Rachel's Author Newsletter: http://tinyurl.com/rldnewsletterFollow Rachel on Twitter: @RachelLDemeterJoin Rachel on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rldemeterAdd Rachel on Goodreads: http://goodreads.com/RachelLDemeter

Buy links

Goodreads Author Profile: https://www.goodreads.com/RachelLDemeter


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION and RAFFLECOPTER CODE

Rachel Demeter will be awarding a Momentum bundle of 3 romance titles chosen by the winner to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a Momentum bundle of 3 romance titles chosen by the winner to a randomly drawn host. 






3 comments:

  1. Thank you for hosting me today!!! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really liked the excerpt and the blurb about the book. I would enjoy this book I think.

    ReplyDelete