The Mistress of Pennington's Tour

Thursday, 9 April 2015

Every Move She Makes by Jannine Gallant

The Birth of a Series…

Every Move She Makes wasn’t originally intended to be part of a series. It was simply a single title suspense set in my gorgeous part of the country, Northern California. When I wrote the book, I was focused primarily on the plot—my main goal to keep readers guessing until the villain’s big reveal at the conclusion of the book. But somewhere along the line, I fell in love with my cast of characters. Not just the hero and heroine, but with their family members who each play an important role in the story. Rachel’s sister is unique and feisty and a little sarcastic with a string of ex-boyfriends to her credit. It seemed only fair she should finally find the one man who will turn her life around. Kane’s brother is laid back and gorgeous and extremely content to live life on his own terms. Shouldn’t some woman throw a wrench in the works and make him rethink his priorities? So, while the mystery comes to a satisfactory conclusion in Every Move She Makes, readers don’t have to say goodbye to the characters. Grace and Jed each have their own books—and their own villains to battle. And we get a glimpse into life after the HEA for Rachel and Kane.

So, do you love series? Or is enough is enough your philosophy when it comes to books? I hope you’ll fall in love with the characters in Every Move She Makes. If you do, there’re two more in the Who’s Watching Now Series on the way! The following short scene with Rachel and Grace was the clincher, the one that told me there had to be a book two…

It was several hours before people began to leave. Susan went home with her parents, and Grace announced she’d decided to drive back to the city.
Rachel touched her arm. “Are you sure, Gracie?”
“I’m positive. Anyway, you need some time alone with Kane and the girls.” She hugged her tight. “Talk to him. I think he needs you as much as you need him.”
“I will. Drive safely and tell Nolan I said hello.”
“We broke up.”
“Grace! You two were good together. I thought you were going to make it work with him.”
“He was getting too serious, hinting around the m-word, so I cut him loose. I cared about him, but he wasn’t the one.”
“How do you know?” She fisted her hands on her hips. “You didn’t give him a chance.”
“I never looked at him the way you look at Kane. Don’t worry about it, Rachel. I’m good with the decision.”
“But I want you to find the kind of love I have.”
“Someday I will, and in the meantime I’ll enjoy looking.”


No matter where she goes, he knows her every move…

Long ago, Rachel Carpenter was a glamorous soap star. She gave it all up to move to Napa Valley with her daughters to open a bookstore near her family vineyard. Her life is safe and dependable, until she encounters Kane Lafferty at a wilderness camp in the rugged High Sierra. A burned-out police detective struggling with his own demons, Kane is instantly attracted to Rachel. And like Rachel, he isn’t sure if he’s ready to open his heart. But everything is about to change…

Someone is watching from the darkness. A fanatic obsessed with Rachel for years has decided to claim what he believes is his. It will be up to Kane to not only protect his new love and her family, but to uncover the identity of the stalker before it’s too late for all of them…

Buy Links:

About the Author:

Write what you know. Jannine Gallant has taken this advice to heart, creating characters from small towns and plots that unfold in the great outdoors. She grew up in a tiny Northern California town and currently lives in beautiful Lake Tahoe with her husband and two daughters. When she isn’t busy writing or being a full time mom, Jannine hikes or snowshoes in the woods around her home. Whether she’s writing contemporary, historical or romantic suspense, Jannine brings the beauty of nature to her stories. To find out more about this author and her books, visit her website

Author Links:


  1. Working on a series myself--challenging but satisfying all in all. Good luck!

  2. Thanks, Susan. Best of luck with your series, too!

  3. The great thing about writing a series is that you don't have to say goodbye to your characters when you reach The End. Congrats on your latest release Jannine!

    1. Thanks, Susan. I know, right? Makes me want to write a book four...

  4. Bluehost is ultimately one of the best website hosting company with plans for any hosting needs.